Out with the old, in with the new.

I have been a bad blogger.  In my defense, I think a lot about blogging, but things always get in the way.  And so, in an effort to become a better blogger, it’s time for a list.

I love lists.  I love planners.  I love post-its with lists in planners.  So let’s start with a list of what has happened in 2010.

Grad school:

– I passed Advanced Genetics

– I passed Genomics (and learned perl programing)

– I passed both my written

– and my oral prelim

– I chose a thesis lab

– I co-authored a review

– I applied for the NSF GRFP (crossing fingers)

– I took the Advanced Genetics TAship for spring 2011

Places traveled and people seen:

January: South Carolina to celebrate my oldest brother’s marriage

Emily in St. Louis!

April: My dearest friend, Emily, came to a conference in St. Louis

Good friends in Chicago

May: Chicago with Camilla, Anne, and Jillian, and I said “until 2012” to Camilla who moved back to Australia

Bar Harbor

June: Raleigh to celebrate the marriage of two friends, Sarah and Brian, and then on to a week in Maine to catch up and talk with mentors about lab decisions

The Old Courthouse

September: Mum and Dad came to visit St. Louis for a few days

October: I missed the pig pickin’, but went to NC to surprise my scottish cousins visiting the US

The Art Institute lions

November: Chicago with mum, and then spent Thanksgiving with cousins in Capitola, California

December: home to New Bern for Christmas

In other news:

– I started practicing Iyengar yoga in February

– I found a hiking buddy

– I found out I had a very hurt back and hip

– and I was discharged from physical therapy

– I stopped riding for 6 months

– and started back up, and my equitation is better than ever.

– Met some really amazing people – Camilla, Ashley, Sahar, Jane, Michelle, Kathy, and others.

– Went on my very first float trip

– found places to go hiking

Apple picking

– and went apple picking.

In fiber news:

– I actually started spinning my fleece

– completed several projects (and those of you who know my knitting habits should be proud), including two Christmas gifts

– joined ravelry

– learned lace knitting

– learned continental knitting

– learned how to read a knitting pattern

– learned magic loop

– started a sweater

Needle felting - a dangerous new hobby.

– picked up needle felting

– and dyed my own self-striping yarn

And so what’s going to happen in 2012?

– I am going to be a better blogger.  Or at least try.

– Stay on top of my written correspondence – do you want a letter from me?  Send me your address.  🙂

– Complete the experiments necessary to publish on my work (and they’re going to work.  really.)

– Work on gratitude – to the people who help me out every day without even knowing it.

– Be more systematic about becoming a better spinner.  I already know I love it, now it’s time to get good at it.

What happened in your life last year?  Do you have any new year’s resolutions?

One Comment to “Out with the old, in with the new.”

  1. A great 2010, and here’s hoping for a wonderful 2011 for you, too!
    Miss you! xx

Leave a Reply

